Hamilton County (2010)

This page shows the candidates in the 2010 election for the Hamilton County government.

County Commission District 2

David W. Cantrell

Jim Fields

County Commission District 6

John Brooks – incumbent since 2006

  • Party: Democrat
  • Bio: Attorney

Joseph P. (Joe) Graham

  • Party: Republican
  • Bio: Printing business

County Commission District 8

Tim Boyd

Kenny Smith – Current Hamilton County School Board Chairman

Terry Turner

  • Party: Independent
  • Profile: See Chattanooga Times Free Press
  • Quote: “[Atlanta residents] told me [consolidating city and county police departments] was one of the worst decisions they’ve ever made.”

Jim Winters

School Board District 3

Everett Fairchild – Incumbent, since 1998

W. Marty Haynes

  • Bio: Industrial sales, Hixson Kiwanis Club, Hixson High PTA
  • Key issue: Establish online check register to assist public with school finance transparency
  • Website: http://www.martyhaynes.com/

Ken Smith – Not to be confused with Kenny Smith, who is currently on the school board, but is leaving to run for county commission in District 8.

Tony Westendorf

School Board District 6

Joe Galloway

  • Bio: Retired educator and athletic coach
  • Profile: See Chattanooga Times Free Press
  • Quote: “There is too much testing. Students should be graded more on effort.”

Gary Patterson

School Board District 8

Dean Arnold

Andrew C. Mullins – goes by Andy Mullins

David Testerman

  • Bio: Retired educator
  • Key issues: Hiring a local superintendent, greater community involvement in schools

School Board District 9

Marchetta Cannon

  • Bio: Retired medical assistant
  • Profile: See Chattanooga Times Free Press
  • Key issue: Simplifying process for parents to address the school board at meetings

Michael Evatt – goes by Mike Evatt

Karen Farrow

Caleb Long

Gary Potter

Timothy T. Stephenson

County Mayor

Richard D. Ford

  • Party: Independent

Claude Ramsey – incumbent since 1994

County Clerk

R. Chester Heathington Jr.

W.F. (Bill) Knowles – incumbent since 1974

Register of Deeds

Jeff Brown

  • Party: Democrat
  • Political experience: Hamilton County Democratic Party chair, 2009-present
  • Key issue: Fiscal responsibility
  • Website: http://www.registerbrown.com/
  • Social media: Twitter

Pam Hurst – incumbent since 1994


Lloyd Clendenen

  • Party: Democrat
  • Key issue: Eradicating drugs in schools
  • Social media: Facebook

Jim Hammond – incumbent since 2008

Juvenile Court Clerk

Gary Behler

Ron Swafford – incumbent since 1998

Chancery Court Judge

Jeff Atherton

Valerie Epstein

Art Grisham

  • Party: Independent
  • Bio: Attorney
  • Social media: Facebook